3 Milestones Indian batsman can achieve in T20 World Cup



Indian cricket fans eagerly anticipate the 2021 T20 World Cup, hoping to bounce back after two disappointing campaigns. For Virat Kohli, this will be the pinnacle of his short-format career and a final opportunity to lead India to victory.

The T20 World Cup Schedule states that on October 24, India will face archrival Pakistan in a Super-12 match. Two other teams joined them from Round 1; India’s group includes New Zealand and Afghanistan. Play in Round 1 begins on October 17.

Two T20 cricket behemoths lead India’s batting squad in Kohli and Rohit Sharma, India’s white-ball vice-captain. The Indian team is led by superstars KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant, while there are also experienced players like Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan.

Kohli and Rohit are two of the most prolific record-breakers, setting new goals with each passing match. Even though Kohli is the leading T20I (T20 International) run-scorer, he is closely followed by Rohit Sharma. It was so close for a while that they were constantly swapping places at the top of the batting order.

Virat Kohli: World T20 record holder in runs

Virat Kohli is now ranked fourth all-time in the T20 World Cup run standings. The top spot in the rankings will be his if he makes it to the competition’s finals with 240 runs. Chris Gayle comes in ahead of him in the rankings, and he’ll be competing in the World Cup as well.

The top scorer is Sri Lankan ex-captain Mahela Jayawardene (1016), followed by Indian skipper Virat Kohli (775). With 920 runs, Chris Gayle comes in second.

At the 2016 T20 World Cup, Kohli was unstoppable, scoring 273 runs at a strike rate of 146.77 and being named the tournament’s player of the year. India will be watching to see if he can keep up his recent success.

Both Rohit Sharma and Martin Guptill of New Zealand are close behind Virat Kohli in T20I run-scoring, but they also lead the format in terms of sixes struck. Guptill has the most sixes (147), while Rohit has 133. Guptill is the top batsman.

If Guptill struggles and Rohit recovers his six-hitting form, he has a good chance of finishing the T20 World Cup as the top six-hitter in T20 Internationals.

Rohit Sharma hit the most sixes in T20 cricket.

Rohit Sharma is behind Martin Guptill by 14 sixes, but if the ‘Hitman’ gets going and India advances further in the competition, Sharma will catch up. Against spinners and pacers alike, India’s vice skipper regularly hits sixes into the six-figure range.

Rohit Sharma has the most sixes in the World Cup era.

During the T20 World Cup in 2021, Rohit Sharma hit six sixes. A 10-for-twenty tournament will see him pass Yuvraj Singh as the most prolific Indian six-hitter in T20 World Cup history.

During the inaugural T20 World Cup, Yuvraj Singh famously smashed six sixes in an over. He currently holds the tournament record with 33 sixes.

If Rohit surpasses Yuvraj Singh’s total, he will catch Chris Gayle, who has 60 sixes and counting, as the second-highest six-hitter in tournament history. Ro-Hit Sharma always holds a position in the teams of fantasy cricket in India.


The first Twenty20 World Cup will be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman in October 2021, and preparations are well underway. A star-studded batting and bowling team will make India a strong favorite going into the tournament.

India’s batting lineup is led by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, with KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant providing support.

While Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, both of whom are newcomers to international cricket, will help to bolster India’s batting, Ravindra Jadeja’s development as a T20 finisher and Hardik Pandya’s explosiveness provide the team balance and depth.

The Indian batsmen will keep the crowd engaged, as they have in previous T20 World Cups.

There have been several standout Indian batsmen since the first T20 World Cup in 2007.

Numerous players, ranging from Yuvraj Singh in 2007 to Virat Kohli in 2016, have made a great impression for the Men in Blue on the grandest platform.

Here is a look back at some of the great Indian batsmen before we find out who will lead the team in 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *